A Look Back: Airforce Delta Strike

I used to mention this game to people back in college and honestly… No one knew what I was talking about! I couldn’t believe it.

This game is nothing short of awesome.

Oh yeah, that brings back memories. This game was pretty much the perfect mesh of everything I loved:

Awesome story
Great Graphics
Dynamic Characters
Fantasy Universe
Full 3-D Freedom of Movement
Large landscapes
Multiple story-lines
Customization Aircraft
A Perfect combination of antique, modern, and futuristic craft.

Yeah you could fly anything from old WW2 prop planes all the way up to the most modern jets and even futuristic fighters… I’ll admit that I stayed away from the prop planes simply because they always seemed too slow to keep up with anything.

The story also tended to change and take shape around whatever pilots you chose to fly as. You can pretty much choose to fly as one the entire time, or choose between a few… personally I recommend sticking with two pilots where possible. If you change it up all the time and go to different squadrons… you wind up going from story to story and not really being able to keep track. Even so, the parts of the story you do get work pretty well.

So you’d fly multiple planetary missions that were awesome enough, but the game designers decided that everything they’d given you simply wasn’t enough… no no no!

Towards the end of the game, you wind up in space, fighting Endor-size missions against enemy fleets with your fighters modified to fly in orbit.

So what’s my overall rating?

I give this CLASSIC 9/10. It would get a perfect 10/10… however the story and the background strains my suspension of disbelief to the breaking point and your Commander Air Group is a bit of a wench, but its such a great game, that doesn’t bother me much.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.

jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com

I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.

Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!

Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

4 thoughts on “A Look Back: Airforce Delta Strike

  1. This game looks pretty cool. I had no idea this was even a thing. Though, to be fair, it feels like the PS2 library was just endless with releases from every company.

    Like

    • StCyril says:

      This is true, in terms of sheer quantity, I don’t think any system has such an impressive library.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed. Though, The SNES I think could put up a bit of a fight.:P

        That said, do you share your writing on any other sites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. Would you be open to the idea of crossposting your work on our Creators fansite or sharing you wordpress posts with the users in our Facebook group? My e-mail and more info can be found on my page if you’ve got any questions.

        Like

      • StCyril says:

        Yeah. Any chance to spread things around a little more.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

