From My Writing Playlist

So death and/or despair.

Hoo boy… um… well… I’m going to give you a few before I go back to Romance tomorrow.

I suppose I should post this one for death:

What the hell???

Before you all go scratching your heads, hear me out. I’m not referring to the entire song. Just the opening vocalist.

Still don’t get it? Listen to the opening vocalist again. Now close your eyes and picture a young maiden, maybe a character of yours walking through an open field its pretty, there are flowers, the sun is bright, everything is tranquil. Then she get’s either hit with a spell or shot and falls to the ground in fairly slow motion. Tell me it doesn’t fit.

[Spoiler Alert]

974374_534668136633277_415762542_n

That number is responsible for Lia’na’s death in Tears of the Fallen. It’s how I came up with the idea.

Second song:

This song is off of Evanescence’s little-known Origins Album, well before they became famous with ‘Wake Me Up Inside’ and then quickly faded into obscurity.

Honestly… this is a funeral dirge. This is a song for despair and loss. It’s technically not on my regular playlist, so it won’t come up automatically, but I go to this song when writing a post disaster/death/tragedy scene. It helps with the aftermath.

The first time I heard this when I started writing, I took it and placed the last 20 seconds or so (the harmonizing at the end) over Padme’ Amidala’s funeral scene in Star Wars… and it matched perfectly. Seriously, try it out. Start at about 2:38 (You can do…) and play the funeral scene with no audio:

Anyway like I said, definitely not a casual listen, but it works on many levels.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

5 thoughts on “From My Writing Playlist

  1. jameslantern says:

    Sad why the obsession with death

    Like

  2. StCyril says:

    I’ve been posting songs from my writing playlist on a daily basis. Another of my readers asked about what songs I use for despair, death, and romance. I did romance yesterday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dacia says:

    Very reflective. I do see what you mean with the opening vocals on the first.
    Do you ever find lyrics to be suggestive to your writing? Distracting even?

    Like

  4. I love that you included some of the Star Wars soundtrack. The soundtracks were always such a highlight of the movies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

