Off My Writing Playlist

No Junjou Na Kanjou… let me come right out now and say this… I don’t speak Japanese. I never have. I tried to… but foreign languages are not my strong suit. I successfully learned Latin, and still botch it up on a regular basis when trying to speak it.

Then what are you doing listening to this?

Do you have to understand everything in order to appreciate it? Consider… how many songs out there do you listen to that have Na na, la la, doot doos, scat, chanting in languages you don’t know, or (God help you) yodeling? Several popular songs out there these days have these things. You don’t understand what they’re saying, but you don’t think twice about it.

I look at this like listening to something without lyrics. The vocals, to me, are simply another musical instrument playing.

Also, I’ve tried listening to the only translated versions I’ve heard:

 

Some lyrics just don’t work when translated. This is one of those songs. The English versions are inferior in every way.

When to listen: Um… I don’t really know… right as the hero rescues his/her love? Really I listen to it all the time regardless, but that’s usually when I find myself going directly for it.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

4 thoughts on “Off My Writing Playlist

  1. Dacia says:

    I’m curious to hear what your death and despair soundtrack sounds like. Or heaven forbid, intimate. lol Either way it is a lot of fun attempting to sneak into your mind through your music choices. Keep em coming, Jim.

    Like

  2. ToadieOdie says:

    I can see this being a good song for a romance plot/subplot where the person is trying to win the love of the other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

