An Unpopular Opinion: Masters of the Universe

As I got older and the internet became a thing… imagine my surprise when one of my childhood favorites didn’t do very well at the box office. I mean I suppose that I shouldn’t be surprised, given the lack of sequels, but I loved this movie. It is, in my opinion, one of the better fantasy movies to come out of the 80s.

Oh God Jim, really??? But come on, the movie sucked! 

Thank you for that, here is my response:

But… but… but…

Yup, that’s always where the argument ends. This is a shining example of what I mean when I say that a good bad guy can save an otherwise bland/boring/flat-out bad story and make a great story even better.

Skeletor was performed here by the criminally underrated Frank Langella who was clearly not only having fun with this character, but giving it his all. In an interview back when the movie came out, he mentioned that he did this movie because his kids loved He-Man so much and it clearly shows.

Wait wait wait, Jim the character is NOTHING like the one in the Cartoon!

… would you really have rather had someone portray this in real life?

I think not.

Granted, the movie’s skeletor isn’t the original by any stretch. This is Skeletor as portrayed by Langella and I’m sorry, it’s better!

So really, that’s it? You love the movie because of one character. That’s your only argument?

Do I really need another?

 

Also, that is not my only argument. The movie is supposedly supposed to take place AFTER the events of the TV show. Which to me is a bold choice, given that most people think that after a show ends, its all happily ever after and roses. NOPE! The movie opens with Eternia getting completely overrun and their remaining armies scattered and in shambles. Their leader retreats off world.

But Jim, didn’t you JUST say that this plot line of sending characters to modern day Earth has been done over and over?

Sigh… yes, I did. But this is when movies JUST started doing this. Last Action Hero, Roger Rabbit, etc. were all coming out around this time period. So back then it hadn’t been done ‘to death.’

I still can’t believe you like this! The characters are…

 

Yeah okay, but the scenery…

 

But… but… the writing…

 

Jim…

Silence!



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

 

11 thoughts on “An Unpopular Opinion: Masters of the Universe

  1. Ste J says:

    Masters of the Universe is a classic, it steals bits from loads of films and combines them into a camp bit of awesome. People have no taste for the finer things in life!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Toootally forgot about the movie version!! I was huge into He-Man when I was younger. I need to watch this again. Great insight and opinion

    Like

  3. I actually watched this again recently and had no second thoughts that it is indeed a classic. It is currently still saved to my DVR. No shame.

    Like

  4. aarong3eason says:

    I hate that movie…but your point about Frank Langella has me intrigued enough to where now I have to suffer through it again…thanks a lot

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m giggling. Courtney Cox! Dolph Lundgren! Howard the Duck. Space Balls. Super Mario. Weird Science. Thank you, Jim.

    Like

  6. ToadieOdie says:

    I loved this movie as well and it makes me want to dig it out and make my 15 year old watch it with just watch him roll his eyes at me. He has no appreciation for these films. At all. lol

    Like

  7. Peter W says:

    I’m a HUGE MOTU fan – hell, look at the toys I post on my page but even as an eight or nine year old, I knew the movie sucked. I’ve never watched it since I was a kid as I just couldn’t believe how bad they messed it up. The only redeeming qualities are/were Frank Langella as Skeletor. Saurod, Blade, and Kaarg as new baddies, and the portrayal of Evil-Lyn.

    Like

  8. I don’t think you chose the best toon Skeletor. The Christmas Special is a special circumstance and even I admit it’s not very good. But I don’t have a problem with Langella doing his own Skeletor. I also don’t think this has to be part of the toon continuity. Back then you had the minicomics, the show, the storybooks…this could just be another continuity, which is how I prefer it.

    I do agree, though, that the movie isn’t that bad despite its faults.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

