My Writing Playlist

I still haven’t decided on a name for this daily installment.

Anyway, working title. Today’s submission:

Oh yeah, the God himself… the man who corrupted a whole generation and continues to make waves today. Alice Cooper himself.

When to listen to this one: Villain creation. Not kidding, I’ve build many a bad guy while listening to this song. Highly recommend it.

Also, who here considers his music Metal??? I’ve heard arguments on both sides and frankly, I do consider him metal… 80s Metal, but metal none-the-less.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

5 thoughts on “My Writing Playlist

  1. Val McBeath says:

    No, not metal for me, just rock (not that that’s bad) πŸ™‚
    I find it interesting that you have tracks for all occasions. I just have the radio or my iTunes on all the time and get what I’m given. Maybe if I’m struggling for inspiration I’ll try your approach!

    Like

  2. mahbuttitches says:

    I always write to music as well! It guides me to connect with the point and emotion I’m trying convey. Alice is definitely metal! 🀘🏿🀘🏿

    Like

  3. aresonantone says:

    Oh man. When I’m just doing research or writing something other than fantasy, I can get into music with lyrics, but for the most part, if I can understand what they’re saying, I focus too much on that than what I need to do. I suppose I could try Skinny Puppy again… hmmmmm…. Something about cookie monster vocals leaves me unable to understand them. ::: le sigh :::: think think…… ::: shrug ::: Meh!

    Good on you to be able to write to stuff like that. On the other hand, that can be the right music to run an RPG to. πŸ™‚

    On the other hand, I consider Alice to be a purveyor of early 1970’s proto-metal or just good ole hard rock in the same way that Led Zepplin and Judas Priest were heavy metal. So YMMV. πŸ™‚ They were the bulldozers that made the way for the metal road.

    Like

    • StCyril says:

      That’s true. Actually that’s a good way to look at Cooper.
      Honestly you’re not the only one who has that same trouble. If that’s the case, I’d recommend some classical music as there are no lyrics. Fortunately there is a lot to choose from. The Generations Overture and ‘Transformation’ from Beauty and the Beast are two of the most fantastic musical numbers I’ve ever heard and certainly are on my playlists as well.

      Like

      • aresonantone says:

        I own over 1000 pieces of classical (cinematic/Modernist/classical/baroque/romanticist) styles to write to. I love so many film composers. Plus gregorian chant and another thousand in no lyric electronica, ambient and atmospheric space music kinda stuff. So we are well stocked for writing music. My current personal faves have been Thomas Bergeson… otherwise known as “Two Steps from Hell”. I did a whole soundtrack for my setting that goes all the way back to music written and updated from 1000ad, which works good when you’re dealing with the descendants of vikings in the New World. πŸ™‚

        Good to see another writer who loves his music.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

