And We Did It Again!

Two writers from Star Wars have now done what Trek Against Trump did to Star Trek:

“Chris Weitz tweeted the following Friday morning: “Please note that the Empire is a white supremacist (human) organization.” Gary Whitta, the original writer on the project, responded in kind, tweeting: “Opposed by a multi-cultural group led by brave women.”‘

The Hollywood Reporter

UGH… this has gone too far. REALLY too far. First of all, you’re alienating a huge part of Star Wars’ fan base by doing this. I know you’re probably going to say ‘Well they’re bigots and misogynists so who cares?’

Well you know what? That’s your narrow-minded opinion, and frankly it’s not accurate. There are people out there who are anti-establishment voters who went for Trump for reasons that had nothing to do with hatred or racism.

Also, the Empire is a White Supremacist Organization? What does that say about people who like the Empire because they enjoy bad guys, and people like the 501st who dress up like them for comic cons and reenactments?

My geekdom just died a little more… The worst thing is that Disney will not stand up against this… why? Because if they do, suddenly Salon and Huffington Post articles will come out slamming Disney and we’ll start seeing a ton of whining from the regressives.

All I can say for those of you who find this offensive, like myself… Take solace. This isn’t Star Wars or the characters saying this. This is the senseless ramblings of one or two writers with two much time on their hands attempting to pander to social justice, perhaps for some kind of credibility… and if I need to point out the irony there…

This shameless shilling is NOT Star Wars, and anyone who tells you otherwise is pushing an incredibly one-sided, politically driven agenda, and nothing more. Its a fact. Just so you know where I’m coming from, I personally don’t care if each of these people come out in against Trump. That’s fine, I’m not fond of him myself. I don’t even care if they create a sci-fi internet guild bringing them all together to lobby for Hillary. What I care about is the fact that they’re using Star Wars as a base to push their agenda. That is wrong, it is blatantly wrong and it makes fans like me who don’t agree with the extreme left feel left out, disenfranchised, and alienated for our beliefs.

As I’ve said before, people, PLEASE do not buy into this. Do not give these people the time of day or let them think that they have taken the moral high ground here. If anything, go onto facebook or twitter and let them know why you’ve voted the way you did. Let them know that what they’ve said and done is wrong on a multitude of levels and why. SHOW THEM! Giving into this and falling for the rhetoric does nothing other than create more division. As fans, we’re finally coming back together after Star Wars took a royal beating with the prequels.
We’re here, finally coming together and all this does is create division amongst the fans. It’s unnecessary and it’s wrong…

But people like Weitz doesn’t care. Why? Because he, like so many others are blind to everything beyond the bounds of their own politics. They have a need to inject their political beliefs into everything they do, otherwise life has no meaning for them. To them, Star Wars CANNOT be its own fun-filled story into fantastical nonsense. No it has to stand for something, it has to show who the good people are and who the bad are…  They can’t grasp that this is not the way to promote their political beliefs, but in the end, all it does is damage the franchise they’re working on, hurt them at the box office, and insult the fans.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go rewatch The Force Awakens. I don’t usually condone swear on my blog but… as with Trek Against Trump… FUCK THIS NONSENSE!



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

11 thoughts on “And We Did It Again!

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Lol, totally agree with you on this. It is getting completely out of hand. What’s next Harry Potters thoughts on Trump? 😀

    Like

  2. I’m at the point where it’s just pure oversaturation. No, I didn’t vote for him. No, I don’t like him. But they’re using my fandoms to promote their agendas? Go away. Go pollute someone else’s escapes. Leave mine alone. *sigh* People suck sometimes.

    Like

  3. Piggybacking on the Star Wars/Trek name(s) for the sake of furthering an agenda happens all the time.

    Like

  4. imaginealpha says:

    You’ve made a completely logical and accurate point here. Sure, they can organize whatever protests they want, but when they start revolving them around fandoms, that’s when we have to start caring. Most people in my community agree that both candidates are unfit for office, but honestly, taking it as far as to throw Star Trek/Wars into the mix is too much. *Waves frantically* Hello, we’re still here! Don’t ruin our experience because you want an insignificant theme for your protest.
    I wholeheartedly agree with you on this one.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. This is rather sickening. In my humble opinion, entertainment and politics should stay very far apart. It’s not entertaining, or enriching in any way if it’s pushing a political agenda, even if the agenda is justified. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

