Goals in Writing

Hi Jim,

I was just wondering as a fellow writer what your goals are? Like what are you hoping people get out of your writing or what do you hope to accomplish by releasing your writing to the public?

Thanks,
Also Jim!



Hi Also Jim,

I want my book to get noticed by a big movie production company, buy the rights for a few million dollars, and then live off of the royalty checks so I’ll never have to work again in my life.

… … … … okay, all kidding aside.

Honestly, I could live without any of my stories changing mediums, either on the big screen or the small one. After seeing what happens when a director gets a hold of another person’s work, pretty much cuts the creator out, and projects their own vision on the established story. It RARELY ends well, and leaves the original creator extremely bitter. (See Mary Poppins, The Never Ending Story, the Jaws Sequels, and the Exorcist 2. Just to name a few…)

Okay… honestly it really depends on which book you’re talking about. Let’s run down the list…

The Magnifica Series – So this was a sort of fun fantasy that I wrote for my own enjoyment. Yes I do have racism… in context, species-ism in the story, but it’s heavily downplayed. I really just wanted this to be a fun story for anyone who really wished that mythological creatures existed. Really I didn’t even think I’d get it published, but there was some demand from a few friends who read it. So really if you get something about how damaging racism can be, wonderful. If you’re just really enjoying it because it’s a fun story, that’s all I really wanted.

Divinity – So Divinity was the first major work I ever did. It was a book I wrote during a time when I was going through a crisis of faith. In context, I follow the Catholic faith, however I don’t typically go to church, nor do I follow all of the tenants to a T. I also take exception when a priest or other church official giving definitive answers to questions they have absolutely no business answering that way. Divinity was essentially the answer to that. I wanted to comment on why people of faith need to be careful about blindly following what the leaders of ANY given church say.
So basically I took my readers back to a time when church corruption was at its worst and, based on what humanity typically did to people who claimed to be prophets, placed a wounded angel at the mercy of these people. I thought it was appropriate because… well…

History people, here’s a theoretical question for you; If an angel appeared in 15th Century Europe, knowing what the church was like and how primitive people were, what would happen if they saw said angel bloodied, blind, and unable to fly?
(You all already know my answer, so go ahead and let me know in the comments. I’m pretty certain we’re all thinking something similar.)

So yeah, the book was meant to be a cautionary tale against blind faith.

Damnation – So Damnation had similar themes at it dealt with the geopolitical strife during the War of the League of Cognac. However it’s more a story of redemption. A dark character that has gone as bad as you could go, comes back to the light. My story here is supposed to be more one of hope. I still wanted to draw out the hypocrisy of blind faith in religion, but I more wanted people to take away that no matter how bad things get, there are paths back.

Soul Siphon – … okay you got me. This one was pure enjoyment. Seriously, I’d always wanted to write a super hero story and that’s what I came up with. There is no real hidden meaning behind it, it’s pure enjoyment, nothing more.

So Jim, I hope this answers your question. Overall, I really just hope that people enjoy my writing and it opens them up to the new worlds that I created. Honestly I first wrote my books because I wanted something interesting to read and really wasn’t finding anything on the market. I worked on getting them published because people wanted to read them. That’s all really.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

2 thoughts on “Goals in Writing

  1. Emaleth says:

    I loved the Skyrim picture in the bottom… My request is: can you give me some advices about how to write a good fantasy story?. I`ve been writing since… forever, but I want to do things in a better way now. I apreciate the help. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

