Trek Against Trump…

Sigh… you know, I wanted to stay out of this whole nasty ordeal, but now it’s starting to hit home.

Look, I don’t care if you like Trump or Hillary.

Trump is a loud-mouthed businessman who has problems with various people. Is he racist? That’s debatable, and their are valid opinions of him on both sides. He is also technically a non-establishment candidate… however that’s not necessarily a good thing. People want to vote for him because he doesn’t answer to the party or Wallstreet… or anyone else for that matter including you and me.

Will it be the end of the world if he’s elected? No, the idea painted that he’ll have his finger on the nuclear launch button is pure fantasy, it doesn’t happen like that and most likely Congress will stonewall him on many of the things he wants to do because they actually do answer to people. All in all, it’ll be a four year shit show.

Hillary is a career politician with a laundry list of corruption that goes past my arm (and I have a decent wingspan). She feels she’s entitled to the White House, and is an establishment party candidate. The primary WAS fixed to help her win, we know that for a fact now, and it doesn’t help her reputation that she brought Wasserman-Shultz on after the DNC head stepped down. Now, is she responsible for everything she’s accused of? That’s debatable. She was secretary of state, but still subservient to Obama in most cases.

Will it be the end of the world if she’s elected? No, again Congress will pull what they did under Obama and stonewall a lot of what she wants to do to. She is a globalist democrat, which is an ideal that I view as extremely dangerous to our economy (See NAFTA and Free Trade) in that you can’t raise taxes, benefits, and wages, and then expect our workers to compete with totalitarian regimes overseas. Again, she’ll most likely be stonewalled and the most we’ll have to deal with is a bunch of regressives accusing Congress of blocking her due to sexism, like they did with racism under Obama.

So like I said, I don’t care, things are not getting better either way and who you back for whatever reason is irrelevant in my mind. However, now we’ve got… what I can only call blasphemy. Trek Against Trump. I’m going to post their little mission statement below here, but you can also find it on their Facebook page that I will NOT be linking to:

Star Trek has always offered a positive vision of the future, a vision of hope and optimism, and most importantly, a vision of inclusion, where people of all races are accorded equal respect and dignity, where individual beliefs and lifestyles are respected so long as they pose no threat to others. We cannot turn our backs on what is happening in the upcoming election. Never has there been a presidential candidate who stands in such complete opposition to the ideals of the Star Trek universe as Donald Trump. His election would take this country backward, perhaps disastrously. We need to elect a president who will move this country forward into the kind of future we all dream of: where personal differences are understood and accepted, where science overrules superstition, where people work together instead of against each other.

The resolution of conflicts on Star Trek was never easy. Don’t remain aloof –vote! We have heard people say they will vote Green or Libertarian or not at all because the two major candidates are equally flawed. That is both illogical and inaccurate. Either Secretary Clinton or Mr. Trump will occupy the White House. One is an amateur with a contemptuous ignorance of national laws and international realities, while the other has devoted her life to public service, and has deep and valuable experience with the proven ability to work with Congress to pass desperately needed legislation. If, as some say, the government is broken, a protest vote will not fix it.

Have you just turned 18? Have you moved? Have you never voted before? Some states have early registration (early October) and/or absentee ballots. You can’t vote if you are not registered. So make it so. Go tohttps://www.rockthevote.com , a non-profit, non-partisan organization, and fulfill your civic duty. Because, damn it, you are a citizen of the USA, with an obligation to take part in our democracy! Do this not merely for yourself but for all the generations that follow. Vote for a future of enlightenment and inclusion, a future that will someday lead us to the stars.

Endorsed by:

J.J. Abrams
Allan Apone
Richard Arnold
René Auberjonois
Scott Bakula
Ira Steven Behr
Rick Berman
John Billingsley
Christopher Black
Paula Block
Paul Boehmer
André Bormanis
Brannon Braga
Mark Robert Brown
LeVar Burton
Terri Potts-Chattaway
John Cho
Tracee Cocco
George Colucci
Mimi Cozzens
Denise Crosby
Dan Curry
Joseph D’Agosta
Peter David
Nicole de Boer
Keith R.A. DeCandido
John de Lancie
Jonathan Del Arco
John DeMita
Chris Doohan
Paul Eiding
Aron Eisenberg
Terry Erdmann
Terry Farrell
Lolita Fatjo
David C. Fein
Juan Carlos Fernandez
Louise Fletcher
Jonathan Frakes
Bryan Fuller
Dave Galanter
Tim Gaskill
David Gerrold
Robert Greenberger
Bruce Greenwood
Max Grodénchik
Martha Hackett
Glenn Hauman
Manu Intiraymi
Michael Jan Friedman
Dominic Keating
John Knoll
Walter Koenig
Alex Kurtzman
Judith Levitt
Jeff Lewis
Justin Lin
David Mack
Dennis Madalone
Chase Masterson
Dakin Matthews
Gates McFadden
Robert Duncan McNeill
Nicholas Meyer
Anthony Montgomery
Ronald B. Moore
Tom Morga
Kate Mulgrew
Larry Nemecek
Adam Nimoy
Susan Nimoy
Robert O’Reilly
Linda Park
Leslie Parrish
Robb Pearlman
Simon Pegg
Randy Pflug
Ethan Phillips
Robert Picardo
Sandra Piller
Chris Pine
Emmett Plant
Zachary Quinto
Michael Reisz
Andrew Robinson
Eugene & Heidi Roddenberry
Marvin Rush
Tim Russ
Zoe Saldana
Ralph Senensky
Naren Shankar
Armin Shimerman
Gregory Smith
Brent Spiner
Rick Sternbach
Peter Sternlicht
Eric Stillwell
Jay Stobie
Sandy Stone
Carel Struycken
Marina Sirtis
Michael Sussman
Kitty Swink
George Takei
Michael Taylor
Hallie Todd Withrow
Connor Trinneer
Karl Urban
Wil Wheaton
Herman Zimmerman

My geekdom just died a little… So basically this isn’t officially Star Trek or CBS authorized, but its literally everyone who had anything to do with Star Trek in a long while.

I want everyone to take a look at the two areas I highlighted in red. Do you see the inherent problem with these remarks? In their first statement, they say how all walks of life and views should be treated equally as long as they don’t infringe on others. Then they turn around and call those who plan to vote 3rd party to be illogical and apparently ill-informed. In other words, don’t work towards breaking the corrupt two party system and vote for the elitist with a superiority complex over the elitist with a brain-mouth filtering issue!

That is NOT in the spirit of Star Trek. Not at all, and I’m pretty sure that Gene Roddenberry would not approve of this.

Both candidates are equally bad, I’m sorry but it’s true. But let’s take a look at what else they say:
Never has there been a presidential candidate who stands in such complete opposition to the ideals of the Star Trek universe as Donald Trump. His election would take this country backward, perhaps disastrously.

Oh I am pretty certain that there have been… I’m PRETTY certain that if we go back a few decades, we’ll find candidates on all sides of the line that were pretty rotten.

We need to elect a president who will move this country forward into the kind of future we all dream of: where personal differences are understood and accepted, where science overrules superstition, where people work together instead of against each other.

And you’re shilling Hillary for that? A war-monger? An entitled 1%er who feels she is above the law? A person who actively tries to get us into conflicts, and has pretty much no concern for the general electorate as we’ve seen by the actions of her campaign! Yeah, that’s clearly the person who’s going to bring us all together…

where individual beliefs and lifestyles are respected so long as they pose no threat to others.

Well… this is actually very harmful. What you’ve said and how you’re going about things is actually very harmful.

Either Secretary Clinton or Mr. Trump will occupy the White House. One is an amateur with a contemptuous ignorance of national laws and international realities…

That is true.

… while the other has devoted her life to public service, and has deep and valuable experience with the proven ability to work with Congress to pass desperately needed legislation. 

That is absolutely NOT TRUE AT ALL. History has shown us otherwise over and over again during her time in the Senate, as well as her tenure in the Obama Administration. I could go on, but frankly this statement is so stupid, it’s making my blood boil.

If, as some say, the government is broken, a protest vote will not fix it.

That is true… a protest vote will not fix anything, but neither will shilling for Clinton. The only thing that will fix things is by getting more parties exposure and bringing other views to center stage, taking the power away from two overly corrupt parties. A fact which you have completely disparaged above.

You can’t vote if you are not registered.

Again, true. Despite what this is saying, I do agree that voting is important. It is the right, will, and responsibility of the people to vote as this is the only way things are going to change.

Do this not merely for yourself but for all the generations that follow. Vote for a future of enlightenment and inclusion, a future that will someday lead us to the stars.

Okay, Clinton is not going to take us to the stars and neither will Trump. Plain and simple, all we’re going to wind up with is more debt and being even more divided on every issue (if that’s even possible), then we were before.


 

This… this makes me want to cry. I am literally sitting here with tears in my eyes over how pissed off this makes me. I am not even being melodramatic right now… at least I’m not trying to be. The idea of Trek getting involved in the election is absurd, it is 100% pure fiction. The original creators of Star Trek didn’t have this kind of thing in mind, I seriously doubt they’d want their creation being used in such a partisan, bias, way to shill one candidate whilst blatantly disparaging anyone whose view differs from them.

The Star Trek Universe is fiction. It’s not the world we live in, so to say that the Trek universe would be behind this is absolutely wrong. I don’t think Gene Roddenberry would want this. He probably wouldn’t be a Trump supporter, but I seriously doubt he’d want his creation being desecrated into becoming propaganda for a status-quo candidate.

People, PLEASE do not buy into this. Do not give these people the time of day or let them think that they have taken the moral high ground here. If anything, go onto facebook or twitter and let them know why you’re voting the way you are. Let them know that what they’ve said and done is wrong on a multitude of levels and why. SHOW THEM!

Finally, if you’re an American Citizen, please register and vote. If you want to vote for Hillary, go for it. If you want to vote for Trump, go for it. If you want to write in Bernie, all power to you. If you want to vote Stein or Johnson, good for you!

I don’t care who you vote for. I don’t, as long as you are voting for the candidate that closely mirrors your passions, views, and the things you believe and hold dear in the most. That’s all anyone can ask of a voter.

This shameless, senseless, shilling is NOT Star Trek, and anyone who tells you otherwise is pushing an agenda, fact. Just so you know where I’m coming from, I personally don’t care if each of these people come out in support of Hillary. I don’t even care if they create a sci-fi internet guild bringing them all together to lobby for Hillary. What I care about is the fact that they’re using Star Trek as a base to push their agenda.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go watch some Wrath of Khan. I don’t usually condone swear on my blog but… FUCK THIS NONSENSE!

Oh and to you people:
J.J. Abrams
Allan Apone
Richard Arnold
René Auberjonois
Scott Bakula
Ira Steven Behr
Rick Berman
John Billingsley
Christopher Black
Paula Block
Paul Boehmer
André Bormanis
Brannon Braga
Mark Robert Brown
LeVar Burton
Terri Potts-Chattaway
John Cho
Tracee Cocco
George Colucci
Mimi Cozzens
Denise Crosby
Dan Curry
Joseph D’Agosta
Peter David
Nicole de Boer
Keith R.A. DeCandido
John de Lancie
Jonathan Del Arco
John DeMita
Chris Doohan
Paul Eiding
Aron Eisenberg
Terry Erdmann
Terry Farrell
Lolita Fatjo
David C. Fein
Juan Carlos Fernandez
Louise Fletcher
Jonathan Frakes
Bryan Fuller
Dave Galanter
Tim Gaskill
David Gerrold
Robert Greenberger
Bruce Greenwood
Max Grodénchik
Martha Hackett
Glenn Hauman
Manu Intiraymi
Michael Jan Friedman
Dominic Keating
John Knoll
Walter Koenig
Alex Kurtzman
Judith Levitt
Jeff Lewis
Justin Lin
David Mack
Dennis Madalone
Chase Masterson
Dakin Matthews
Gates McFadden
Robert Duncan McNeill
Nicholas Meyer
Anthony Montgomery
Ronald B. Moore
Tom Morga
Kate Mulgrew
Larry Nemecek
Adam Nimoy
Susan Nimoy
Robert O’Reilly
Linda Park
Leslie Parrish
Robb Pearlman
Simon Pegg
Randy Pflug
Ethan Phillips
Robert Picardo
Sandra Piller
Chris Pine
Emmett Plant
Zachary Quinto
Michael Reisz
Andrew Robinson
Eugene & Heidi Roddenberry
Marvin Rush
Tim Russ
Zoe Saldana
Ralph Senensky
Naren Shankar
Armin Shimerman
Gregory Smith
Brent Spiner
Rick Sternbach
Peter Sternlicht
Eric Stillwell
Jay Stobie
Sandy Stone
Carel Struycken
Marina Sirtis
Michael Sussman
Kitty Swink
George Takei
Michael Taylor
Hallie Todd Withrow
Connor Trinneer
Karl Urban
Wil Wheaton
Herman Zimmerman
You should be ashamed of yourselves. (Drops the mic)

But Jim, this is nothing new!

Yeah, I’m not touching that one… especially given the direction the Marvel universe has gone. So let me just basically provide a catch-all quote for anything else like this that may exist by saying that I don’t want to live on this planet anymore!

To my readers, I apologize, I know you came here to read something about writing or books… I will get back to that tomorrow. However as a die-hard, out-of the-closet geek who loves how mainstream our lifestyle has become, things like this REALLY hit home.

Thanks for putting up with my rant.




Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

21 thoughts on “Trek Against Trump…

  1. AlanMiller says:

    We live in the era where everything can and will be politicized.

    Like

  2. thejander says:

    You know I had a passing thought a few weeks ago wondering if there were people in this world who carry this ideal for the perfect future that Star Trek offers. I laughed at the thought and moved on. Apparently, that amusing thought is really a thing. Now, I’m all about standing up for what you believe in but, I don’t like the thought of groups using someone’s creation to support their cause when that creation has nothing to do with it. I’ll give leeway to satire and allegory creations with that purpose, but something created as pure fiction and often times unrealistic as a platform, that’s just a bit silly.

    Like

    • AlanMiller says:

      Frodo Bagging would want the rich to pay their fair share.

      Like

    • StCyril says:

      I hate to say it… but I’m honestly just about done with Star Trek. I’m out. The last two movies were crap, as was the last TV series… and now this new one called Discovery looks like crap… and what we know about the story sounds like they’re pulling a Marvel. Heck the 50th Anniversary Panel at SDCC was essentially an hour-long social justice rant.

      Like

      • thejander says:

        There’s not a single thing that makes me want to watch Discovery. It doesn’t help that I’m tired of sequels, prequels, remakes, and reboots in general.

        Like

  3. I haven’t spoken up about the election and don’t usually like rants either, but I’m SO glad you vented on us here. This is the best explanation of the whole mess that I’ve seen. I don’t even have a point to bring out and applaud because it’s all excellent. I couldn’t have said it better, in fact I’m putting a link on my FB page because I’ve wanted to say something and you’ve said it….Thanks for your astute observations and outraged balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. J.R. Cook says:

    I could not agree with you more! The mere fact that all of these actors and people involved in Star Trek what use Star Trek as a springboard to force their other political ideas upon you by using the something that we all love. I personally feel like I should not have anything to do with Star Trek anymore. That hurts a lot because I’ve grown up with Star Trek and positively loved everything that they’ve done except for the last couple of movies. Thank you for the clarity in your statement it seems like it came from my own mind and my own heart I just couldn’t put words to the page.

    Like

  5. Me, too. I have my beliefs and all this propagandizing and anti-social behavior will and cannot change my mind. It turns me off. People can think just because they’re famous or in media that they are so influencial, they’re not. They often look like the idiots they are when they come out and speak politically. Sorry, but many are drug addicts, back stabbers and mental degenerates. That’s why they’re entertaining.

    Like

  6. Jerry Boyer says:

    I hear you loud and clear! BTW, the following would help if people would consider, but percentage wise almost no body will… “the world revolves”!! “http://www.oneworldofnations.com/

    Like

  7. coastalmom says:

    Very well said. Wish I had said it. I never got into Star Trek but I am all about a good metaphor! And this should be a published piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. GI says:

    I understand and respect your opinion to take a third party in protest to our two present candidates. I understand your rage and outrage. I am not sure that you realize just how bad things are in our country and around the world. I know that how that sounds but not all things continue and that includes The Great American Experiment. I do not know the future and I am not claiming gloom and doom. However, we went from 20 to 120 percent of paying the interest on our debt in just 8 years. The walls of the city on a hill as Reagan used to put it, could come tumbling down in less than 8 more years if we continue on our present trajectory. I would suggest to anyone please check out masters.edu/summit to hear more about what I am talking about. In any case I wish everyone the best.

    Like

  9. mlaiuppa says:

    No. They’re NOT equally bad. That is a false equivalent manufactured by the Republicans and you swallowed it.

    Debatable he’s a racist? REALLY? Haven’t you been paying attention? He’s demonstrated he’s a racist over and over. It’s on TAPE for godsakes. Racist is only ONE of his many faults that makes him unqualified to be President of the United States.

    Laundry list of corruption? What? You think she murdered Vince Foster too? If you believe that, you’re as uninformed and critical thinking challenged as I originally suspected. Or you just don’t “like” her? Well, then, don’t invite her over for dinner.

    We’re not choosing a friend, we’re electing a Commander in Chief.

    It would be a shame if, after an 8 year respite, the U.S. was once again reduced to being the laughingstock of the world.

    You claim you love Star Trek but you have no respect for those inherent in its creation and life. There are some brilliant people on that list you just dissed. You think they’ve all be hoodwinked by some media hype? You think they haven’t given this a LOT of thought?

    Go back to watching Big Bang Theory and your Star Trek DVDs. Voting is way too complicated for you.

    Like

    • StCyril says:

      And immaturity like this^ is why I don’t get involved in politics. Seriously, childish insults? Grow up.

      You may not agree with what I have to say, but seriously, is your argument so weak that you have to resort to personal attacks to get your point across? I was respectful to you, you might consider doing the same and actually reaching across the isle. People might actually take you seriously.

      Have you listened to any of the speeches on what either of them want to do or just the soundbites? I’d recommend looking into both platforms, the nature of American politics, and what a President actually can do. If you do, I think you’ll find that nothing would be different between the two.

      Like

  10. […] writers from Star Wars have now done what Trek Against Trump did to Star […]

    Like

  11. […] was almost as bad as the ‘Trek Against Trump’ campaign that was basically a group of… almost everyone who worked on Star Trek coming […]

    Like

  12. […] at Discovery… for starters quite a few elements of Trek have adopted the regressive mindset. Trek against Trump, being one of the more egregious […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

