Collaboration/GB: A Response

I wanted to continue on to the next opinion I had on writing trends, but I felt the need to stop for a moment to address some of the critical messages that I’ve been getting.

Ever since I posted my responses to the Ghostbusters controversy, the political correctness problems with writing, marvel, etc. I’ve been getting a lot of messages here, on twitter, and other places dealing with my opinions on each. Many of the responses I get are positive; thank you’s, pats on the back, and even more questions. This is great…

However recently, I’ve noticed an uptick in some rather angry people who disagree with me and have done everything from tell me that no one wants to hear my opinion, to calling me misogynistic and hateful, to telling me that my books look awful… to attacking my parentage.

Look, everyone has an opinion. EVERYONE. At times, they can certainly be misinformed, but everyone has one regardless. If people didn’t want to hear my opinions, I wouldn’t have a fairly good following, reader base, and my posts wouldn’t have comments on them. I also wouldn’t be getting emails from people asking me questions about writing… and other issues for some reason.

To everyone who likes Ghostbusters, Marvel, and the direction that this writing is going. All power to you, I’m glad that you enjoy it. However what I’ve seen recently is a huge push for diversity which has come at the expense of good story-telling. Women and minority individuals can be good characters. Two of the best villains of all time in my opinion; Phoenix and Maleficent, are both female. Whereas one of my favorite heroes at this point is also female; Lady Mechanika.
I’ve also enjoyed characters like Bishop, Forge, and Spider Gwen.

Unfortunately, the trend recently is to give story-tellers and movie makers a pass on creating weak stories and bad movies, as long as they’re pushing the right agenda… which in this case happens to be diversity. I think that is patently ridiculous and absolutely condescending. No one deserves a pat on the back for pretty much saying, ‘Yeah, here’s this script I pulled out of my butt last night. Yeah it’s crap, but look at all the minority characters and look at all the women I put in it.’

NO ONE!

I hold writers and movie makers to the same standard I hold myself to. If I see a movie or read a story that’s bad, I’m going to say it’s bad. If it’s bad because the creators are more focused on pushing an agenda than creating something great, or use an agenda as a shield against their laziness, I’m going to call them on that. I think doing any less would be a disservice to my readers.

In any case, I’m not going to stop posting my opinions. I stand by what I’ve said about the various hot-button topics that I posted on, and will continue to post more as they come up as long as there is some kind of writing take on it.

If you want to disagree with me or you have an opinion on the topics I write about that differ from mine, then go ahead and post a comment about it or send me an email. I’d love to hear from you and engage with you either in a new blog post or in a comment thread discussion. But when I get messages from people like what I mentioned above, I’m really not interested in trolls. Seriously, if you think something I said was misogynistic or bigoted, please let me know and I’d be happy to address it. If, however, you’re just going to call me such for the simple fact that you disagree with me, well that’s kind of insane.

1

So to my readers, sorry for the rant. I will get back to my normal posts later in the week.

Thanks all!



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

You can also add me on Twitter!

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

5 thoughts on “Collaboration/GB: A Response

  1. […] via Collaboration/GB: A Response — The Creative Works of James Harrington […]

    Like

  2. AlanMiller says:

    well reasoned and thoughtful. Shared it on my blog for good measure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. raistlin0903 says:

    Great Post. I guess that is one of the dangers of posting things online, there are always people who will disagree with you. If it is done in a respectful way, I have no problem with it whatsoever: in fact I welcome it. But if people just rant because you have another opinion, that is truly ridiculous. With all things in life, everyone is entitled to his or her own thoughts. It is when people force things on others that problems arise. Unfortunately we live in a world where things like this sometimes seem normal, (or people think it is normal) but it really is not. So…as I said: Great post 😀

    Like

  4. Grant-Sud says:

    When you get responses that are loud mouthed and innappropriate, then they’re not worth responding to. Sometimes it’a best not to respond 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

