Why I Will Not be in Attendance for Ghostbusters…

Okay… here goes… there has been a lot of controversy surrounding this film… A LOT of controversy and I’m joining the fray. God help me…

I am taking a page from James Rolfe and refusing to see this movie for a multitude of reasons that I will explain below.

  1. The cast… okay I know a lot of people are upset about there being all female. Personally, I do not have an issue with this. I like the idea of female empowerment having written a lot of strong female leads myself. My issue comes with the fact that the cast is ALL female… look, if you’re trying to empower women, having four of them running around acting like goof-offs is not the way to go about it. Make the group a mixed cast of men and women where everyone plays an equal role. Christ, you could put Charlize Theron with her shaved head in a beat up ghostbuster’s outfit and make her the team badass, personally I’d love to see something like that. That would be cool. My main gripe with the cast comes right down to Melissa McCarthy. I don’t like her comedies, I don’t think she’s funny, and based on her interviews, I’m not too fond of her either. In my opinion, she’s a one-notes actress who plays the same loud-mouthed, Rosie O’Donnell clone over and over.
  2. The special effects look like CRAP! Others have stated that the CGI looks like something out of Eddie Murphy’s Haunted Mansion… ugh! Really though, they do look like unbelievable crap. One would think that with Star Wars The Force Awakens, the studios had learned their lessons about practical effects vs. CGI… but based on this, it really seems like some haven’t gotten the message.
  3. Sony’s dishonesty. Okay, when you place an embargo against movie critics and go around deleting critical comments (and not just the hate-filled ones), I’m sorry but your movie is not worth my time.
  4. The comedy is phoned-in. At least in the trailers, I didn’t see anything that made me laugh. The original two Ghostbusters movies were laid back and the characters were written by the comedians that played them. This strikes me as someone writing for these people the way that they think they should be.
  5. Hypocrisy. This complaint is two-fold. First, activists and critics have said that this movie will help promote minorities and women as marketable leads more and more… Um… yeah except that you cast the only African-American lead in the movie, as a stereotypical, loud-mouthed, blue-collar, working class woman. Yeah, because she couldn’t possibly be a scientist right? Seriously, the moment I read the casting, I cringed.
    Secondly, according to the reviews… EVERY MAN IN THE MOVIE IS EITHER STUPID, INCOMPETENT, OR AN ASSHOLE. This is very much akin to what we so often see in comedy shows with African American leads. All the non-AA characters, usually mostly white, are stupid or racist. People… this doesn’t work, especially when you’re talking about empowering people. You can’t empower a group of people by disrespecting every other demographic. By catering to one specific small group and alienating everyone else, you’re not bridging gaps and showing the world what ‘women can do,’ you are in fact reinforcing the divides and tensions, and taking all credibility and wind out of what you’re trying to do. Sorry, but it doesn’t work.
  6. The soundtrack sounds horrible. Seriously, I never minded Fallout Boy… but damn… Seriously, I don’t think I even need to comment on this, go listen to it. Once your ears stop bleeding, you’ll understand what I’m talking about.
  7.  YOU POLITICIZED IT! Okay, this is perhaps the most egregious thing that you could have done. One, you’ve compared everyone who has an issue with this movie to a loud-mouthed Trump supporter. Yes I will admit that there are quite a few misogynistic comments out there surrounding this movie. No one is going to argue about that. Gender discrimination is a real thing and needs to be addressed, but when you try to draw a line in the sand and take the stance that you either see this movie or you’re a misogynist, you’re really showing your true colors.
    Allow me to explain… the very people who complain about gender discrimination, are committing it themselves. Take the afore mentioned James Rolfe. He posted a video explaining point by point why he didn’t want to see the movie. It was a well thought out argument. At no time did he make misogynistic comments or even attempt to discourage people from seeing the movie. He simply stated that he did not want to see it himself, and as an online personality on his own time, he has no obligation to.
    THE INTERNET EXPLODED! Rather extreme and hateful responses coming largely from feminist crowds came out in droves.  Vikram Murthi of IndieWire… who clearly didn’t even watch his video stated that…
    “It doesn’t take a giant leap of logic and faith to presume that his ideological problem with the film stems from the fact that it stars four women in a previously male-dominated franchise.”
    BASED ON WHAT??? Nothing in his video gives ANY indication of it. Also, he’s been a youtuber for 10+ years with literally hundreds of videos released. He has a comedy show on there referred to as the Angry Video Game Nerd and AT NO TIME has he ever said anything misogynistic. He even takes time to review things such as games directed at girls that other critics tend not to touch because it doesn’t interest them.
    Eric D Snider, a noted film critic went so far as to attack his family, asking who would marry this man-baby, while Daniel Carson called his wife a gold-digger who just married him for his Star Trek V gumballs.
    But don’t take my word for it, here’s the video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hz8X2A7wHyQMeanwhile, Comic Book Girl 19 has come out far more harshly against the movie, encouraging people not to see it for a multitude of reasons and, with a few exceptions, she’s been largely left alone. She certainly has not faced the huge amount of insults that Rolfe has.

    HOW IS THIS ANY DIFFERENT THAN WHAT THE ACTUAL MISOGYNISTS WERE DOING?? HOW ARE YOU ANY BETTER?
    This is nothing more than an attempt by the PC crowd to silence the voices of critics in the same way that many Obama supporters have tried to silence anyone who has an issue with his presidency by dismissing them as racists. It’s wrong, it’s glaringly hypocritical, and it’s making the cause or person look weak as they can’t stand up to an argument without resorting to childish name-calling.
    Paul Feig, the movie’s director, came out and stated that “Geek culture is home to some of the biggest assholes I’ve ever met.”
    As an out-of-the-closet geek, someone who supports the geek community, and basks in the fact that geek is the new cool, I was personally offended by his comments. Not only does this make me not want to see Ghostbusters, it makes me want to avoid any movie he’s ever put his print on, or ever will.
    Melissa McCarthy in an interview with the guardian and put her two cents in:
    “Four women doing any movie on earth will destroy your childhood? I have a visual of those people not having a Ben [Falcone, her husband], not having friends, so they’re just sitting there and spewing hate into this fake world of the Internet. I just hope they find a friend.”

    Okay um… fuck you! I’m sorry, I don’t normally like resorting to profanity, but that really pisses me off. For starters, I’m happily married with two kids and no I do NOT spend all day on the internet, except for work. I have plenty of friends.
    Unfortunately, this idea that the critics of the movie are misogynistic man-childs living in their parents basement has caught on and been perpetuated by other cast members, supporters, and people who worked on the movie.

    But the politicking doesn’t end there, no no no! Producer Judd Apatow in an article on variety.com  stating that “I would assume there’s a very large crossover of people who are doubtful ‘Ghostbusters’ will be great and people excited about the Donald Trump candidacy,”
    Great, so now we’ve gone so far as to insult intelligence across the board! The producer has now not only insulted critics or the Ghostbusters movie, but a large portion of the American voting populace. Look, you may like Trump, you may not, and I can understand either argument, but either way, there are legitimate reasons for voting for Trump that don’t involve racism or being an enormous blow-hard.
    For the time being, I’m willing to believe that this is Apatow’s own senseless rantings and not the opinion of the studio, because -generally speaking- studios do not want their work associated with a political candidate, especially in an election year….

    Oh crap…

    And again… 

So there you have it. This movie wreaks of a studio not trying at all, assuming that people will watch anything or will give this movie a pass because it’s a ‘chick flick’ and it really pisses me off. To add even more to their list of crimes against society, they then damage the legitimacy of the a major social issue, gender equality, in order to make quick buck under the guise of empowerment.

People, seeing this movie is not making a political statement for the empowerment of women and minorities. Not at all. This is just giving into social manipulation by some very greedy, very powerful people who lack any scruples or moral standards what so ever. If anything they said about the fan base were true, there would have been an equal, or arguably stronger outcry against Star Wars and Fury Road, as those two franchises have arguably larger fan bases that are far more radical. However, that did not happen. Yes there were detractors, but it was nowhere near the same degree.

I’m asking all of my readers now, I like the originals, but I’m not a die-hard ‘Ghostbusters needs no reboot’ fan. If you want to go see this movie… just make sure you’re seeing it for the right reasons; BECAUSE IT’S SOMETHING THAT INTERESTS YOU! If you like Melissa McCarthy, no problem. You’ll probably like this movie. Just PLEASE don’t go see it because it’s the ‘PC’ thing to do, or because you’ve been tricked into thinking that shelling out $12 for a half-assed movie is somehow empowering people. Don’t give into the manipulation and give the very evil people responsible for the negative hype your time and money. That is all I ask.



Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

8 thoughts on “Why I Will Not be in Attendance for Ghostbusters…

  1. Thank you! All of your reasons for NOT seeing this movie are the SAME REASON I am not seeing this movie. My husband, who is a big Melissa McCarthy fan *is* going to go see it, and I’m OK with this. As long as he doesn’t force me to go with him it’s all good. Am re-blogging this because the issues you speak of are true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] via Why I Will Not be in Attendance for Ghostbusters… — The Creative Works of James Harrington […]

    Like

  3. allendemir says:

    It’s a shame this had to become the level of discourse surrounding what’s largely just another unoriginal, run of the mill remake. I’ve seen a complete lack of class from a lot of people on both sides, and you can’t even have an opinion now without someone accusing you of being the same as the worst elements of either camp.

    It’s just a digestible Summer flick, devoid of any deep or political message, and somehow it’s become more divisive than the current presidential campaign.

    Liked by 1 person

    • StCyril says:

      I personally blame the studio. They saw what was happening and knew that they had created a substandard product, and created a false feminism narrative to try to protect it from critics and protect they paychecks. Unfortunately, a large amount of the feminist crowd… our at least it’s loudest elements bought into it.
      It’s despicable. Damaging the credibility of a good cause to keep those millions intact. Why feminists allow this is beyond me. You would think they’d be outraged.

      Like

  4. Reanne says:

    I agree that them politicizing it was a bad move. I think they spent WAY too much money on this movie, both in production costs and *especially* in marketing (particularly considering how much the marketing blew up in their faces with a large part of their potential audience).

    However – I did go to the movie, and I kind of loved it. Yes, there were a handful of jokes that fell painfully flat. But overall, it was really pretty hilarious (especially Chris Hemsworth). I say this as a non-fan of the original (really, I honestly don’t see why so many people think the original is funny). It had other things that I liked, too. I don’t think it was “anti-man” as some people claim, certainly not to the degree that the original was sexist toward women.

    If they’d spent a more reasonable amount of money on it and hadn’t tried to make it so political in the way they advertised/marketed it, I think it would have done better. Because it was an extremely funny movie. (Bearing in mind that humor is subjective.)

    Like

    • StCyril says:

      A fair statement. I’m glad you enjoyed the movie. It’s a really weird phenomenon, but I’ve found that a lot of people who found the first one funny, did not find this one funny. How’s that for subjective humor? I really think that this is part of the problem. The original ghostbusters was funny, but it wasn’t knee-slap funny. A lot of it was passive with jokes drawn out throughout the movie whereas this one just LOOKS a lot more slapstick, but that’s my guess anyway.

      Like

      • Reanne says:

        I wouldn’t use the word slapstick, but it’s definitely an entirely different type of humor, which, yeah, is probably part of the reason there’s such a big discrepancy in people saying it’s hilarious vs. not funny at all (and the same for the original). I know my mom and I think some things are hilarious which my dad thinks are just stupid and he thinks things are hilarious which we think are totally dull and unfunny. None of us are lying about how funny something is (which I’ve seen people claim about the new Ghostbusters), it’s just that people honestly have different opinions about humor and what’s funny.

        Like

Leave a Reply

