Blogs of Importance

Hello Mr. Harrington,

I saw on one of your posts that you take questions. So here it is, how important is it to publishers that you have a blog with a lot of followers and how many followers do they want to see. Right now, I don’t see myself devoting time to acquiring followers. It seems very time consuming and I’d rather use that time to write my novel. Thank you for your time. I hope all is well.

Hi Marc,

On a scale of 1-10, ten being THE most important, and 1 being least… I’d say 1.5 at best. Publishers don’t typically look at blogs, at least not public ones. For example, if you have a blog for your local newspaper, it falls under their domain, and you’re paid to write for them, that’s huge! That’s definitely something you’ll want them to look at. However from my experience, when it comes to blogs like wordpress, given that anyone can get one, I’d say it makes very little difference at all. This is from my experience anyway. Publishing agents and publishers don’t really care all that much. They are more interested in things like articles you’ve had published, or other book publications.

Hope this helps.

Readers, how important do you think blogs are in getting your work published?


Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 5 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

2 thoughts on “Blogs of Importance

  1. Sorry but some do and require the author to have an online presents. You could always blog about writing your bog. I find blogging improves my writing if not my spelling!

    Like

  2. booguloo says:

    I thought of publishing but decided to hold off or not at all. I’m retired but my attention span.. well I’m already starting to drift. That’s why my poems tend to be short. Thanks for stopping by to my blog, “Michael’s Lair”

    Like

Leave a Reply

