No Moment Wasted… A Hero Leaves Us.

I know that this is a few days late, but I’ve sadly been in a bubble working… On Sunday, we lost one of the greats. A man who is the embodiment of a life where no moment was wasted. A legend and one of my all time heroes… Christopher Lee.

Christopher was born in 1922 and his resume includes, but is no where near limited to…
WW2 Veteran,
A member of her majesty’s SAS
World Champion fencer
Actor
Director
Singer
Writer
Activist
Philanthropist

The list goes on. He was the template for almost every villainous character out there, but there was not an ounce of villain in the man. Though he did have a thundering voice that you probably didn’t want reading bedtime stories to your children.
I remember the first time I saw him. He was portraying Dracula in a movie that I was WAY too young to be watching. I remember being scared out of my mind.
However, as the years went on, I began to recognize him in other roles. He was a reoccurring villain in Pirate movies, and then took center stage as the villain in two of the biggest fantasy series out there: Star Wars and Lord of the Rings.

When I listed off his accolades to my wife, I remember she had a sly look on her face as she replied, “Yeah, but in everything he did, I bet he didn’t have time for a family.”
Well… I looked into it and discovered that not only did he have a family, in rare form for a famous actor, he had been in a stable marriage with a child for over 5 decades. So add family man to that list.

There are few words out there that can really do this man justice… so instead, I’ll leave you, my readers with his thundering, but enchanting voice. Here he does what he loves so much, singing… with one of my favorite bands.

You inspired me in many ways… including my writing, and you will be missed, Mr. Lee. Rest in peace.


Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

4 thoughts on “No Moment Wasted… A Hero Leaves Us.

  1. jbgarner58 says:

    Reblogged this on J. B. Garner – Musings of a Starving Author and commented:
    RIP Christopher Lee

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Gabriel to Earth and commented:
    R.I.P. Chris Lee. You were one epic Saruman. I’m glad to have seen you make it through all the Lord of the Rings films before you left us so suddenly.

    Like

  3. Beautiful post about Christopher Lee a true icon! I loved him to pieces, Dracula definitely. Die hard Dracula lover to the end I am currently watching the movie sometime tonight. R.I.P Christopher Lee!

    Like

  4. dallasws says:

    No matter which movie Christopher Lee appeared in, that movie became a whole lot better just for him being there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

