This Above All…

“Hi Jim,

You’ve given out a lot of advice on your blog about writing and I was just wondering… do you have any piece of advice you would give to a writer? For example, if someone came up to you and told you that they are going to start writing a book, what advice would you give them right off without them asking?

Thanks,
Carolyn.”

Hi Carolyn,

I would refer them to the immortal words of the bard;

This above all: to thine own self be true, And it must follow, as the night the day, Thou canst not then be false to any man.

Hamlet Act 1, Scene 3. 

Honestly, truer words have NEVER been spoken and it’s one of the immortal rules that I’ve always tried to live by. In writing, there are rules, styles, standards, and an unending fountain of opinions. No matter what road you choose, no matter what rules you have to bend and even break… because you will have to when you write. Believe me, there will come a time when you have to write something where if you stick the rules, it won’t make sense. When confronted with this, do what makes the most sense to you and have someone read it later.

Further… write what you want to write, not what others tell you that you should. I can personally guarantee you that if you write a book that you would want to read, it will turn out infinitely better than anything else you could right and people will pick up on that.

That is the advice I would offer.


Readers,

Do you have a question about writing, publishing, my stories, etc? Please feel free to post a comment or email me.
jimthewritingwizard@gmail.com
I’ll use those comments to select my next blog post.

I have been writing for several years, have 4 published works, experience with publishing and independent work, so I can hopefully be of assistance.
Please note, I only do one of these a day and will do my best to respond to everyone, but it may take some time.

Also, feel free to check out my works of Fantasy and Historical Fiction, Available on Amazon and where ever books are sold. See the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/James-Harrington/e/B00P7FBXTU

Thanks friends!
Catch you on the flip side!

-Jim

2 thoughts on “This Above All…

  1. Brilliant advice. And I love the quote. One to live by.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

