Author Advice Pt. 3

Rewrites are our friends.

I know, it’s hard. You’ve just spent days, if not weeks getting your story down on a piece of paper or into a Word file. You’ve worked hard on it, but something just isn’t right. It doesn’t flow and no matter how many times you change things in the story, it still doesn’t work.

Now you’re thinking, maybe I should just scrap the whole thing and start over.

Well let me save you the debating… DO IT! Close out of that file, put the paper aside and start anew. I know it may seem like the first draft was a waste of time, but trust me, nothing a person creates with their own two hands is ever a waste of time. Maybe there is a theme or a scene from that first draft that you can use.

The second time through, your writing will be more polished and everything will look  better on paper.

5 thoughts on “Author Advice Pt. 3

  1. Yes! I’m currently editing my 1st book, and there have definitely been a lot of changes as I’ve gained more knowledge, experience and comfort with my writing. This was a good reminder for me that nothing is a waste of time. 🙂 Also, one thing I have learned since I started writing is never throw anything away. It might not work where you cut it out, but maybe it’s meant to fit in somewhere else later. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I think rewriting is the hardest part because you felt its perfect as you were writing your piece and what motivation can you find to change something that is perfect in your eyes. The one thing is certain if you read it a few times you’ll get some new ideas, some new ways of expressing a scene and therefore I totally agree that rewrites are our friends, even though I hate them xD

    Like

    • StCyril says:

      Good point, it’s true, not every 1st draft needs a complete rewrite. My first publishing didn’t, but then I tried to write the sequel in 1st person and it crashed and burned. So I had to rewrite it in the 3rd person.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re right. Nothing is ever wasted. I look on everything as fodder. It will come in handy later, perhaps for another WIP.

    Like

  4. K. Caffee says:

    Ugh. Another one who’s facing the revision monster in its own lair. I thought that edits/revisions were supposed to shorten the content, but all I seem to be doing is making it longer. Hope things unkink for me soon, or else I’ll have an entirely new chapter where there shouldn’t be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

